Spice Club Recipe: Sausage Potato Kale Soup

Now that we have moved and (mostly) unpacked, I thought I would catch up on my spice club recipes. So every Friday I make one of the recipes using the spices that came with the recipe card. The first time I make the recipe I usually follow it exactly. Then after I have finished eating – I imagine what I would do differently if I cooked it again. Or it’s also fun to come up with different ways to use the leftover spices. We have created some fun new recipes this way. Yes, I like to sit around and think about food all of the time.

This week I made Sausage, Potato & Kale Soup and it was a very easy recipe. The recipe did call for ground pork but I had just had pork chops the night before so I substituted ground chicken. The spices were Summit County Seasoning and South Fork Italian Sausage Spice. Sausage Kale Soup 1I mixed the sausage spice into the ground chicken and refrigerated for 30 minutes. I cooked the chicken and then added chopped onions. I added diced potatoes and the other seasoning with chicken broth. I covered the pot and simmered until the potatoes were tender and then added the kale and cooked until it was tender.

This was a quick and easy recipe. If I had left out the chicken and used vegetable broth it would have been vegetarian and just as tasty. I will definitely make this recipe again.

If you like to cook and experiment with new recipes check out your local spice store to see if they have a spice club or you can visit our favorite spice store at Savory Spice Shop.

Leave a Reply

