Almost Instant Breakfast

I was going to write about a spice that I really like on grilled chicken but I don’t seem to be very organized these days. I guess packing and getting ready to move can change your plans a bit.

So let’s talk about breakfast. While I love making breakfast tacos (and buying them), I needed something quick and cheap. I love the recipe for oatmeal, milk, and yogurt but had gotten a little tired of it. Also, you can’t really taste the oatmeal and I was craving that oatmeal taste. So I just skipped the yogurt. I added equal measures of oatmeal and coconut milk in some individual containers. I added a pinch of salt and a little cinnamon to each container, stirred them up and put them in the refrigerator. The night before I add frozen fruit and then the next morning I sprinkle almonds on it. I love the crunch of whole raw almonds. I always have fruit in the freezer and this week it is blueberries. I don’t add honey or sugar but you can add whatever sweetener you use to taste. If you like warm oatmeal, just don’t put frozen fruit on it the night before and then pop it in the microwave. Mmm, maybe warm with some maple syrup, raisins, and pecans. Endless possibilities, my favorite kind of recipe.

Leave a Reply

