Overnight Breakfast

I have been reading about overnight oatmeal and although it didn’t sound that appetizing, I wanted to try it. I was probably feeling really lazy one night and the idea of just getting breakfast out of the refrigerator without cooking anything was appealing.

I tried it and it is awesome! I looked at several recipes online and it seemed pretty basic. Add equal parts of oatmeal, milk, and plain yogurt. Stir it all up and put it in the refrigerator and the next morning, there’s your breakfast. I added a pinch of salt and a little cinnamon. I like Siggi’s yogurt and I have used both cashew and soy milk. I then added some frozen cherries and put some plastic wrap over the bowl and put it in the refrigerator before I went to bed. The next morning I took it out of the refrigerator and added some sliced almonds and then took my shower and got dressed and it was just sitting there waiting for me like a very polite breakfast.

I have to admit that eating cold oatmeal is a little strange but it was so tasty. You could add honey or sugar which I will probably do if I use a different fruit. Cherries are so sweet that you don’t really need any sweetener.

Oatmeal (regular rolled)  1/3 cup

Milk                                1/3 cup                                                                                               Yogurt                            1/3 cup                                                                                                        Salt                                 pinch                                                                                                Cinnamon                       ¼ tsp                                                                                                                Cherries (I use frozen)    however many you want                                               Almonds                         or pecans, or walnuts

Leave a Reply

