Cauliflower Rice

I have been reading about cauliflower rice and didn’t really understand what it was. I saw a bag of it at a local grocery store and threw it in the buggy so I could see what it was all about. It is just cauliflower that has been put through a food processer until it turned into small particles that are shaped somewhat like rice.

I cooked it in chicken broth until it was tender and then added some tilapia, peas, and potatoes. It was really good and I will definitely make it again. I can’t wait to try some other variations.

I seasoned the tilapia with some garlic, cumin, salt, and turmeric and then cooked it in olive oil. After it cooled, I shredded it (I kept some in the refrigerator for fish tacos).

The potatoes had been cooked the day before so I just chopped them up and added it to the cauliflower mixture.  I like to buy small whole potatoes and boil them whole in salted water. I let them cool out of the water and then throw them in a bowl in the refrigerator. I can then fry them up for breakfast or add them to some soup or green beans.

The peas were frozen so I didn’t even have to cook them. I just add them to the hot mixture and they warm themselves in the hot mixture. Peas are so friendly and accommodating.

I took this in my lunch for several days last week and wish I had some more. I would like to cook it again and add it to a chicken or vegetable soup. I might use them as a vegetarian side (like red rice) with Mexican food. Or I could roast them and use them for a topping (like a bread crumb topping on macaroni and cheese).

Obviously I better get to the store and buy another bag!

Leave a Reply

