Split Pea Soup

I love split pea soup. I remember eating this soup out of that famous red can when I was a child. Mmm, now I am remembering some other yummy soups from that same can. Bean with bacon, vegetable beef, cream of mushroom, you know what soup I’m talking about. But let me get back to my split pea soup. It’s tasty and comforting and perfect for a rainy day. It takes about 45 minutes to cook and is even better the next day for leftovers.

I chopped up some ham into cubes and cooked the ham in a little olive oil. If you don’t have ham, use cooked bacon or use some onion or shallot for a vegetarian soup. I added one can of chicken broth with one and a half cans of water (because that’s what I had) but you could also use vegetable broth. Then add one cup of dried split peas. Add some salt and cook for about 45 minutes. You have to stir every now and then because the peas start getting mushy and creamy and yummy. Sometimes I have to add a little more boiling water if it is too thick. Don’t add cool water because then it stops cooking and has to heat back up. If I have some cream on hand I add it at the end after the soup has finished cooking but it is a creamy soup so the cream is not a necessary ingredient.

Today I garnished it with black pepper and feta cheese because I liked the way the black and white looked on the green soup. It is a really pretty green and you feel healthy just looking at it sitting in your bowl waiting to be eaten. Do you have a favorite soup?

Leave a Reply

