Clafouti

I have no idea how to pronounce it but clafouti is something I have wanted to try for years. I first saw a recipe for cherry clafouti in a newspaper about twenty years ago and I never forgot about it. I would periodically think that I should try it but then would forget and go do something else.  Well I finally made one. I had some nectarines that I couldn’t eat fast enough and was afraid they would ruin. I hate to waste food so I remembered about the clafouti. (The word clafouti just looks ridiculous, for some reason I think about clowns when I see it.) This was the easiest recipe.

Preheat the oven to 325.  Whisk together 1 cup of milk with three eggs, ½ cup sugar, 2 tbsp melted butter, and a little vanilla. After that is mixed together, add ½ cup flour. I had to use a mixer to mix the flour in well. I poured it into a baking dish that I had sprayed with cooking spray. I quartered the nectarines (I should have peeled them first) and placed them around in the dish. Bake for about 35 minutes. It puffed up and looked so pretty. I was supposed to dust it with powdered sugar but I forgot that part.

I thought it would be cakelike but it was more like rice pudding without the rice. It was really, really good. I think I will make a blueberry clafouti next. Or raspberry, or dried strawberry, or pear…………lots of possibilities. A very easy quick dessert that looks really nice.

Leave a Reply

