Quiche

Quiche is one of my favorite things to eat because it is so easy to cook. I just mix together five eggs, 1 ½ cups milk, cream, or half & half (whatever I have) and then mix in some vegetables and cheese. I’ve stopped making a pie crust (because I am not the best pie crust maker), I just pour the mix right in the dish and bake it in the oven. I spray the pan first with cooking oil.

I like to use whole grape or cherry tomatoes because I love that pop when I bite into one. After I pour the mixture in the dish I just place some whole tomatoes in the filling and then bake. You can add mushrooms, spinach, broccoli, whatever you have available. If you use zucchini, it is a very wet vegetable and there will be liquid in the bottom of the pan if you don’t eat it right away. I just blot it up with a paper towel. You can use ham, sausage, bacon, really you can just use whatever you have in the refrigerator. You can use whatever cheese you have available. I like to use goat cheese every now and then.

One of my favorites was made with turkey breakfast sausage, and butternut squash. I put some whole sage leaves on the top in the shape of a flower and it looked so pretty. Warning, you cannot eat whole baked sage leaves!

I can eat quiche for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. If I make one on Sunday night, I don’t have to even think about what I will have for breakfast for the next 5 or 6 mornings. I just pop a piece in the microwave, enjoy and then head off to work. I have made quiche in pie dishes, iron skillets, and muffin pans. Once I took some that I had made in a muffin pan to a potluck at work and it was the only thing available that was gluten free. Several people thanked me for bringing something they could eat.

I just bought some mini pie pans so I am going to try making quiche for one.

Leave a Reply

